Editor's Blog

Wendy Erickson

Inventor of the Digital Camera Honored – Royal Photographic Society Awards

September 7, 2012

Among the honorees at the Royal Photographic Society Awards announced yesterday, is Steve J. Sasson, who developed the first digital camera while working for Eastman Kodak Company in 1975.
Check out his photograph here, taken by Steve Kelly. How ’bout that camera!
Selected 2012 Awards recipients include:
Steven J Sasson. Progress Medal and Honorary Fellowship
American, inventor of the digital camera at Eastman Kodak Company, 1975
Awarded in recognition of any invention, research, publication or other contribution which has resulted in an important advance in the scientific or technological development of photography or imaging in the widest sense.
Joel Meyerowitz HonFRPS. Centenary Medal
American, photographer, documented the immediate aftermath of 9/11
Awarded in recognition of a sustained, significant contribution to the art of photography.
Kathy Ryan. Outstanding Service to Photography and Honorary Fellowship
American, advancing visual boundaries, at The New York Times Magazine, author and curator
Recognises major sustained, outstanding and influential contributions to the advancement of Photography and/or Imaging
Honorary Fellowship
Awarded to persons having, from their position or attainments, an intimate connection with the science, fine art or application of photography. No more than 8 awarded in one year.
Douglas Allan. Wildlife and documentary cameraman, awarding winning stills photographer.  
Ian Beesley. British documentary photographer and MA course leader at the University of Bolton.  
Rineka Dijkstra. Dutch photographer and video artist 
Rinko Kawauchi. Japanese photographer, shortlisted for the 2012 Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 
Sally Mann. American photographer, best known for her portraits of her young children. 
Tim Walker.  British fashion photographer.
The entire list of recipients may be seen here: http://www.rps.org/annual-awards